Saturday, 14 December 2013

Lal Thanhawla Sworn-in As Mizoram Chief Minister

AIZAWL: Lal Thanhawla, who steered Congress to a landslide victory in Mizoram, was sworn-in as Chief Minister by Governor Vakkom Purushothaman on Saturday.

He was sworn-in and administered oath of office along with his 11-member council of ministers at the Raj Bhavan here.
Mizoram Governor Vakkom B Purushothaman will administer the oath of office and secrecy to Thanhawla and his Cabinet colleagues today at 11 am at Raj Bhavan.

Newly-elected Congress party legislators had on Wednesday met here and formally elected 71-year-old Thanhawla as the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader.

When asked if former finance minister H Liansailova, who lost in the Assembly elections, would be the party's candidate during bypolls to either of the two seats Lal Thanhawla Sworn has won, he said, "I think he will be a good choice."

After H Liansailova's defeat was known on counting day, Lal Thanhawla had said, "My happiness [over the Congress win] cannot be complete."

The Chief Minister had won from Serchhip and Hrangturzo constituencies.

The Congress had won 33 seats in the Mizoram Assembly elections, counting of which was done on December 9.

No comments:

Post a Comment